Current Conditions
Mostly Cloudy
    • Tuesday
    • 47°
    • 38°
    • Wednesday
    • 37°
    • 33°
    • Thursday
    • 48°
    • 30°
    • Friday
    • 54°
    • 33°
    • Saturday
    • 53°
    • 37°

In The News

PBR’s Iron Cowboy heads to AT&T Stadium for one of season’s Majors

Ninth trip to famed stadium takes place Feb. 24, with RFD-TV’s THE AMERICAN following on Feb. 25, tickets on sale Sept. 1

ARLINGTON, Texas – The second PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Major of the 2018 season, The Winstar World Casino and Resort Iron Cowboy, presented by Kawasaki, will take place at AT&T Stadium, the largest stadium in the National Football League and the home of the Dallas Cowboys, on Feb. 24, 2018. It will be the ninth consecutive year that AT&T Stadium will host the event.

PBR Majors are the highest profile events on the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS). The special events present the stars of the PBR — bull riders and bulls — competing in unique formats that offer increased world standings points and prize money.

For one night only, the Top-40 stars of the “toughest sport on dirt” will tackle the world’s rankest bulls, striving to make the 8-second buzzer. If a rider stays on his bull for the required 8 seconds, he continues to compete. If he gets bucked off, he is finished. The men will continue to ride until one cowboy prevails and is declared the Iron Cowboy.

Tickets for the Iron Cowboy go on sale Sept. 1 and range in price from $10 to $150. They can be purchased at the AT&T Stadium Box Office and Ticketmaster.com, or by phone at (800) 745-3000.

PBR Elite Seats, a premium seating VIP experience that began in 2016, are also available and will provide fans front row seats right on the 50-yard line at AT&T Stadium. The PBR Elite Seats are priced at $500 and will give fans the VIP experience of a lifetime: a pre-event reception with refreshments, photos with the PBR World Championship trophy, 2018 PBR program, backstage tours featuring a PBR 101 presentation, meet-and-greets with several of PBR’s top stars and dirt access following the PBR event. 

The 2017 Iron Cowboy champion, Eduardo Aparecido, 2016 champion Shane Proctor and two-time Iron Cowboy champion Joao Ricardo Vieira, are expected to compete. They will be joined by several PBR World Champions including 2016 PBR World Champion Cooper Davis, two-time World Champion J.B. Mauney (2013, 2015), three-time World Champion Silvano Alves (2014, 2012, 2011), 2004 World Champion Mike Lee and 2008 World Champion Guilherme Marchi.

On Sunday, Feb. 25, the day following the Iron Cowboy, RFD-TV’s THE AMERICAN will return to round out one of the biggest Western sports weekends of the year. As the largest single-day cash prize rodeo in history, THE AMERICAN will offer a total purse of $2 million with $1 million divided among any qualifiers that win their respective events. THE AMERICAN bull riding event will include the Top 10 bull riders in the PBR world standings following the 2017 PBR World Finals, four qualifiers and one exemption each competing for $100,000 in prize money.

A limited number of combo tickets for Iron Cowboy and THE AMERICAN will be available for a limited amount of time. Visit PBR.com or
www.Americanrodeo.com for more information on the availability of this special offer.

With the best Western sports athletes in the world converging on AT&T Stadium to compete in the Iron Cowboy and THE AMERICAN, Feb. 24-25 will showcase some of the most talented, toughest and grittiest cowboys and cowgirls Texas has ever seen.

The Iron Cowboy will be the 8th event on the 2018 PBR schedule. The first half of the season will consist of 17 stops, traveling to such cities as Chicago, New York, Anaheim, California, and Albuquerque, New Mexico. The season will culminate with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals at Las Vegas’ T-Mobile Arena on Nov. 7-11, when the 2018 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most world standings points during the season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

About the Professional Bull Riders, Inc. (PBR)
The world’s premier bull riding organization began as a dream of 20 bull riders 24 years ago and is now a global sports phenomenon. On its elite Built Ford Tough Series, the PBR features the Top 35 bull riders in the world and the top bulls in the business. The televised PBR Built Ford Tough Series, the PBR Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour, the PBR Touring Pro Division and the PBR’s international circuits in Australia, Brazil, Canada and Mexico have paid more than $150 million in earnings to its athletes. Thirty bull riders have earned more than $1 million, including two-time PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney who has become the top-earning athlete in Western sports history with more than $7 million in career earnings. In May 2015, PBR was acquired by WME | IMG, a global leader in entertainment, sports and fashion. For more information on the PBR, go to PBR.com, or follow on Facebook at Facebook.com/PBR, Twitter at Twitter.com/PBR, and YouTube at YouTube.com/PBR.