Current Conditions
Mostly Cloudy
    • Tuesday
    • 47°
    • 38°
    • Wednesday
    • 37°
    • 33°
    • Thursday
    • 48°
    • 30°
    • Friday
    • 54°
    • 33°
    • Saturday
    • 53°
    • 37°

In The News

CONCACAF Gold Cup 2017 Quarterfinal and Semifinal Venues Announced; Copa Centroamericana Champion Honduras to Headline Group A

Tickets go on sale to general public February 22

Miami (Tuesday, February 14, 2017) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced the host cities for the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds of the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup, the 14th edition of which will kick off this July 7 at Red Bull Arena in the New York metro area.

The Dallas, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, and Phoenix metropolitan areas will each host knockout round matches for this year’s Gold Cup, the region’s preeminent championship for national teams. Philadelphia and Phoenix have been scheduled for action-packed quarterfinal doubleheader dates. Los Angeles and Dallas will each host one of the tournament’s two semifinals, matches scheduled for separate venues after having been played in single-city double-header format in recent editions.
Those four markets join the California Bay Area in hosting the decisive rounds of this year’s continental championship, after Santa Clara’s Levi’s Stadium was named earlier this month as the venue for the final, to be played on July 26.  

“With the announcement of the knockout round venues, we complete the picture of world class stadiums for this year’s Gold Cup,” said CONCACAF General Secretary Philippe Moggio. “We know these host cities and the stadiums themselves will provide the atmosphere and facilities to match the enthusiasm of the fans they will welcome this summer.”

In addition to specifying the knockout round venues, CONCACAF announced that Copa Centroamericana champion Honduras to head Group A of this year’s Gold Cup, joining the United States (Group B) and Mexico (Group C) as a seeded nation. Honduras will feature in the Gold Cup opening doubleheader July 7 in the New York-New Jersey area, as well as group matches in Houston (July 11) and Dallas (July 14). 

The complete groups and the full schedule, including selection of dates and assignment of matches for the group stage, will be announced on March 7, during a special event held at Levi’s Stadium. 

The newly revealed schedule for the knockout round matches fills out as follows: 

Quarterfinals 1 & 2 (July 19) – Philadelphia, Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)
Quarterfinal 3 & 4 (July 20) – Phoenix, University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, AZ)
Semifinal 1 (July 22) -- Dallas, AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX)
Semifinal 2 (July 23) -- Los Angeles, Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
Final (July 26) -- Bay Area, Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, CA)

To receive the most updated information about Gold Cup sign-up here. Tickets will be made available to the public on Wednesday February 22nd at 10am local. 

To date, eleven of the twelve Member Associations scheduled to participate have qualified for this year’s tournament. Those national teams are, alphabetical order: Canada, Costa Rica, Curacao, El Salvador, French Guiana, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Panama and the United States, all of which will compete for the Confederation title in July. Haiti and Nicaragua will face off in a home-and-away play-in series during the FIFA match dates in late March to decide the twelfth and final participating Member Association for the tournament. 

Taking place every two years, the CONCACAF Gold Cup is the official national team championship of the region, which includes North and Central America and the Caribbean. Drawing large crowds and millions of television viewers from across the region, the Gold Cup is a celebration of soccer, sportsmanship, and culture.

This year’s event will be broadcast live in the United States on FOX and Univision networks, transmitted on radio in Spanish by the Futbol de Primera network, and broadcast by additional rights partners in countries around the world. 

2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Host Cities & Venues 
Seeded Nations
Group A – Honduras
Group B – United States
Group C – Mexico

Group Stage Venues & Dates:
July 7, Group A – NY/NJ – Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
July 8, Group B – Nashville – Nissan Stadium (Nashville, TN)
July 9, Group C – San Diego – Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego, CA)
July 11, Group A – Houston – BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX) 
July 12, Group B – Tampa Bay – Raymond James Stadium (Tampa, FL)
July 13, Group C – Denver – Sports Authority Field (Denver, CO)
July 14, Group A – Dallas – Toyota Stadium (Frisco, TX) 
July 15, Group B – Cleveland – FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland, OH)
July 16, Group C – San Antonio – Alamodome (San Antonio, TX)
Knockout Round Venues:
Quarterfinal – July 19– Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)
Quarterfinal – July 20– Phoenix – University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, AZ)
Semifinal – July 22– Dallas – AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX)
Semifinal – July 23– Los Angeles – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
Final – July 26– Bay Area – Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, CA)    

Visual Assets for Media Members
CONCACAF, together with the Local Host Committees, have prepared visual assets to aid media members in their coverage of this announcement. Click here to access tournament logos, stadium information, photos and video footage of the stadiums.